From Coding Hobbyist to Cybersecurity Expert: Tracing My Path

From Coding Hobbyist to Cybersecurity Expert: Tracing My Path

In an increasingly digital world, the significance of cybersecurity is paramount. It's not only about safeguarding data but also about protecting the core of our connected society. My venture into the realm of cybersecurity has been exciting and fulfilling, driven by a love for technology and a desire to create a real impact in the digital world.

It all started during my high school days when I dived into the world of programming. Learning languages like HTML, CSS, and JavaScript sparked something inside me, showing me the limitless potential of technology. The power to build something from the ground up, to tackle problems with code, captivated me, and I realized I wanted a career where I could channel this love for innovation.

This desire led me to pursue a scholarship in Telecommunication Engineering at the University of Technology Mauritius. Throughout my academic journey, I seized every opportunity to expand my knowledge and practical skills including working on an Artificial Intelligence solution for Datacenters focusing on Cloud Cost Optimization using machine learning techniques . Internships at esteemed IT companies like Nettobe Group, Dayforce, and Eclosia provided invaluable hands-on experience, exposing me to diverse aspects of the industry such as Enterprise Networking working on reputed Saas platforms like Managed Engine, Barracuda, Microsoft Dynamics 365, Pingdom and Solarwinds.

One particular experience stands out: my time at a healthcare startup focused on tackling mental health problems. I collaborated with a respected psychologist on SAAS-based platforms featuring a chatbot and healthcare CRM as key components. In this role, my main responsibility was to guarantee the safety and security of the platform, requiring careful attention to detail. By implementing multi-cloud strategies and utilizing platforms like RASA, I dedicated myself to safeguarding sensitive customer data, recognizing the importance of protecting information in such a delicate field.

Eager to specialize further and shift towards cybersecurity, I began a transformative journey by enrolling in GoCloudCareers, an online educational platform that assists individuals in developing their careers as Cloud Architects and Enterprise Architects through an online bootcamp. This rigorous program required commitment, and I willingly invested almost two months' worth of my salary to acquire the essential skills and knowledge needed to succeed in this advancing field.

My career took a significant turn in November 2021 when I joined Orange Business as an Associate Project Manager, concentrating on customer support and operational management. During my time there, I dealt with the intricacies of supply chain production, improving my problem-solving abilities and gaining valuable insights into the operational workings of a large organization.

However, my true calling awaited me in the field of cybersecurity. Joining Ernst & Young Mauritius as a Cybersecurity Consultant was a pivotal moment in my career in early 2024. Focusing on Governance, Risk & Compliance (GRC), Cloud Security Architecture, Finops, and Threat Intelligence, I discovered myself at the forefront of protecting digital systems for clients in various industries.

Every day presents new challenges and chances to innovate in the constantly changing realm of cybersecurity. Whether it involves creating strong governance structures, designing secure cloud solutions, or using threat intelligence to anticipate cyber threats, my driving force is a clear purpose—to safeguard, to protect, and to empower organizations on their digital path. Working on projects related to Cyber threats, Data Loss Prevention, Managed Detection & Response (MDR) systems, Security Information and Event Management (SIEM) solutions, and conducting IT security reviews of cloud providers like Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services (AWS) for esteemed banks is laying a solid groundwork for me in the cybersecurity field.

Looking back on my journey—from a high school programming enthusiast to a Cybersecurity consultant—I am grateful for the experiences that have molded me. Each step has been a building block, pushing me towards a career where my love for technology meets my dedication to protecting the digital world. As I move forward on this path, I am thrilled about the opportunity to make a significant contribution to a safer, more robust digital future.

References:

Security Information And Event Management (SIEM):gartner.com/en/information-technology/gloss..